The DeVry University Board of Trustees is composed of nine leaders in business and academia who act as the institutional and governing body for DeVry University, overseeing academic, operational and financial policies.

The mission of the DeVry University Board of Trustees is to foster student learning through high-quality, career-oriented education, in order to prepare students to excel in a changing and increasingly competitive career landscape.

To learn more about the members of the DeVry University Board of Trustees, please click on a biography listed below.

James Bartholomew

President, DeVry University
James Bartholomew joined DeVry University in 2014 as the chief operations officer and became the president in 2017. As chief executive of the university, he is responsible for establishing strategic direction in support of DeVry’s purpose: to empower its students to achieve their educational and career goals.  read more >

Barbara Higgins

Chief Customer Officer, Duke Energy

Barbara Higgins has nearly 30 years of experience in multi-channel operations, market research, brand management and leadership. Her experience includes managing operations across diverse cultures in the Americas, Asia, and Europe. 

read more >

Grace Ng

Former Director of Portfolio Investments, The Dow Chemical Company

Grace Ng is the former director of portfolio investments at The Dow Chemical Company, where she was responsible for the global investment oversight and strategic design of the defined contribution plans with assets totaling about $8 billion.

read more >

Michael Peel

Senior Advisor, ghSMART
Michael Peel is a senior advisor for ghSMART, a leadership advisory firm, where he brings a broad perspective gained from working as a chief human resources officer (CHRO) of iconic and award-winning organizations in the higher education and corporate sectors.   read more >

Richard L. Rodriguez

CEO, Acero Schools

Richard L. Rodriguez is the CEO of Acero Schools, one of the largest and highest performing public charter school networks in Chicago. With 15 schools serving nearly 7,800 K-12 students across the city, Acero partners with students, families and colleagues to cultivate achievement, community, excellence, resilience, and optimism at all network schools. 

read more >

James B. Rosseau, Sr.

Chief Executive Officer, The Corelink Solution

James Rosseau is the CEO and founder of The Corelink Solution, an organization focused on personal and leadership development.

read more >

Mark K. Shriver

Senior Vice President, U.S. Programs & Advocacy, Save the Children; CEO, Save the Children Action Network
Mark K. Shriver is the senior vice president of U.S. Programs & Advocacy at Save the Children and CEO of Save the Children Action Network. read more >

Newton Walpert

Former Senior Vice President and General Manager, U.S. Sales, HP Inc.

Newt Walpert is the former senior vice president and general manager of U.S. Sales for HP Inc. In this role, he was responsible for the go-to market strategy, sales and support resources and the financial performance of the $7 billion personal systems, print and services business.   

read more >